Cash App has proven time and time again that it’s a fast, secure, and convenient way to send or receive money. But if you haven’t used it in a while, and you can’t sign in, you might be wondering – why is my cash app account closed?
Why is my Cash App account closed? The most common reason is if the account holder violates the terms of service. That can include things like using the app to commit fraud or sending prohibited items through the app. The user can get permanently banned from using the app. Another reason an account might be closed is if the user doesn’t use the app for a long period of time.
You may also receive a notification from Cash App within 24 to 48 hours after the account has been locked.
Why Is My Cash App Account Closed?
If you’ve been using Cash App for a while, you might be wondering why your account might be suddenly closed, and you can not sign in. While there are a number of reasons why this could happen, one of the most common is due to violating the rules. When you sign up for an account on this app, you agree to abide by the terms and conditions set forth by the company. These terms and conditions include things like not using the app for illegal activity, not spamming other users, and not sharing sensitive personal information.
If Cash App finds that you are violating any of these terms, they may choose to close your account. In some cases, you may be able to appeal the decision or provide additional information to prove your innocence. However, in other cases, the decision may be final. If your Cash App account is closed, you will no longer be able to use the app to send or receive money. You may also be unable to access any funds that you have stored in your account. If you have any questions about why your account was closed, you will need to contact Cash App customer support for more information.
Are There Other Reasons My Account Got Shut Down?
Inactivity can cause an account to be closed, but it can also be reopened if the user starts using the app again. Finally, an account can be closed at the request of the account holder. If someone wants to close their Cash App account, they can do so by contacting customer support. Another reason why your account can get suspended is that Cash App prioritizes your safety, and they have shut it down temporarily because they’ve noticed some unusual activity.
Your Account Is Not Permanently Closed for Inactivity
There are several other reasons why a Cash App account might be closed. One reason could be that the user has not logged into their account in a while. Another reason could be that the user has not used their account to make any transactions in a while. If either of these things is true, then there is a possibility that the account has been closed for inactivity. If you have a Cash App account that has been closed for this reason, you may be able to reopen it by contacting Cash App customer support.
Can I Get My Money Back?
Using the Cash App debit card is pretty straightforward, and you can withdraw money from many ATMs throughout the country. However, if your account is locked or closed, there is a probability you won’t be able to withdraw any funds. The only solution, in this case, is to get your account unlocked. If you succeed, it will take from 24 to 48 hours for the account to be unbanned after the verification is complete. Once it’s unlocked, you can withdraw your funds.
Open Another Account or Contact Customer Service
If you are permanently locked out of your account, you have several options, but two of the most obvious choices are to either open a new Cash App account or contact their customer support. The table below shows the steps you need to take in either case.
|Open Another Account||Contact Customer Service|
|Open the app on your phone.||Reach out to customer support through their toll-free number – +1 800 969 1940.|
|Tap on the profile if you are still signed in to the old account.||Send an email describing your issue to their email support.|
|Scroll down to the Sign Out option.||Write to their mailing address – Cash App 1455 Market Street Suite 600 San Francisco, CA 94103|
|Tap on the Sign Up instead of Sign In.||Reach them through the app in the profile section.|
|Enter a new email or another phone number.|
|Verify the information.|
How to Notice Scams and Avoid Them?
The Cash App support team advises users to be wary of any suspicious messages on social media. Also, pay attention to any fraudulent activity in your email and text messages, and also be wary of suspicious phone calls regarding Cash App. If you believe the phone number that is contacting you is illegitimate, contact customer service right away and report it. The team will investigate the incident and take the corresponding action if needed.
How Does Cash App Provide Security?
Developers behind this app work diligently to provide the best possible experience and protection for all their users. That’s why, in order to keep you and your funds safe, the app provides the following:
- All payment data is encrypted and submitted to the Cash App servers in a secure way, whether a user is on a private or a public WiFi connection or phone’s data service.
- The app is compliant with PCI-DSS (PCI Data Security Standard) Level 1.
- They use the same fraud detection technology and safety standards, which monitor millions of Square Point of Sale transactions daily.
- Because of all these measures, the app can not be traced.
However, you can add a layer of security by yourself by using a passcode or a password-protected login on your smartphone.
If You Haven’t Violated Any Terms of Service, Your Account Is Good
Cash App can make a decision to close your account for several reasons, but if you haven’t violated the terms of service, you will be able to get your account back with ease. The best way to do this is to contact their customer service, explain the issue and ask for help. Keep in mind that this will only work if the account was closed for inactivity, for your protection, or by mistake. If you have violated the terms of service, you won’t be able to get your funds back after the account is shut down.