Venmo is one of the most popular apps for online transactions, and it is used by more than 70 million people worldwide. Since other Venmo users can see your transactions and who you pay and receive money from, you may wonder how to delete Venmo history and whether such an option is possible. If you do not want anyone to see your transaction history and wish to get rid of it, keep reading this useful article.
It is not possible to delete your entire Venmo history of transactions, but there are certain alternatives you can opt for. For example, you can change the privacy settings for your profile or delete your entire account. If you just want to hide the transactions from one person, it is possible to do it, and you can even choose to block them. It’s up to you to choose which option you like the most.
Table of Contents
Wondering How to Delete Venmo History? You Should Know It Is Not Possible
Because your Venmo transactions are visible to other users, it can be quite weird knowing that other people can see how much money you have transacted. Since it is something you would probably not want to share with other people, you are probably asking yourself, is it possible to delete that history of transactions on Venmo so other people can not see it? However, there are a few things you need to know about this entire process of “deleting” your history on Venmo.
It Is Not Possible to Completely Delete Your Transaction History on Venmo
If your idea was to delete some of your transactions or perhaps the entire history of your payments on Venmo, you should know that it is not quite possible. Sadly, there is no such option for deleting the transactions you’ve made with your account.
However, certain alternatives you can opt for will make your transaction unavailable for other people to see. In the next few paragraphs, I will explain what alternative options you can use to close your transaction history on Venmo.
Delete Your Venmo History by Deleting Your Entire Account
If you are not comfortable with other people viewing your transactions, or you want to erase the information about your transactions, you can do it by permanently deleting your entire account.
However, keep in mind that once you delete your account, you cannot use the app and transfer your money from your cash card to other accounts. All you have to do to delete your account is tap on the “Close Account” button, which will permanently delete your entire profile, including your transaction history.
There Are Many Alternative Apps for Online Transactions
Venmo is not the only app for online transactions. There are many apps on the market with similar functionality and features. If your only problem with Venmo is that you don’t want your transaction history to be visible, you can choose to switch to some other banking apps. For example, you can try using some of the following apps:
Make Your Venmo Transaction History Private
So, you don’t want other people to look at the list of your previous transactions? Deleting them is not an option, but putting them in private mode is. If you don’t want your payments to be visible, you can make your history private and remove them from the “public feed”.
Your transaction history is placed on the public feed by default, which can be seen by your friends and the people you transact with. However, making your transactions private is an option that can easily be applied, and it will prevent other Venmo users from seeing who you are exchanging money with.
How Can You Make Your Venmo Transaction History Private?
If you need an explanation on putting your transaction history on Venmo in private, you must look at this short and useful guide. The process is quite simple and can be done in just a few minutes. In the table below, you can see the optimal step-by-step instructions, which will help you make your transactions invisible to other people on the app.
|Tap the profile photo on your Venmo app in the bottom right corner.
|Tap the gear icon on the top-right corner and enter your settings.
|Tap the privacy button in the middle of the menu.
|Tap the past transaction button under the “more” section.
|Click on “change all to private” which will change the privacy setting for all the transactions.
|Confirm the change by clicking on the “change all to private” button.
There Are Different Options for Making Your Transactions Private
Once you enter your privacy setting section, you will see that there are more options you can choose from when it comes to making your transactions private. For example, in the table above, you’ve seen the option that helps you hide transactions from everyone on the app. However, there is also an option to leave the transactions open only to your list of friends. You can also choose to hide just one specific transaction or a few of them and change their privacy setting.
You Can Also Choose to Block a Person on Venmo
If you are perhaps interested in hiding your transactions from one specific person, you can just choose the option of blocking them without making your entire profile private. You can easily block each contact on your Venmo by simply entering the options menu and opening that contact. You can also hide your transaction from them without blocking them, but it is up to you to see which options are best for you.
Inform Yourself About These Venmo Features and Figure Out Whether It’s the Best App for You
Venmo is not necessarily an ideal app. Before you install and start using it, inform yourself about its features. If you feel like the app is too public for you, choose some other apps with better privacy options. I believe that there are many apps on the market, and everyone can find one that fits them best.